pobre de mí

pobre de mí [noun, m] – closing ceremony of fiestas

It’s fiesta time in our pueblo at the moment, and my partner Alejandro and I were looking at the programme yesterday, to see if there was anything fun we could do with the kids. Well, it turns out we’re a bit late, as it’s the “pobre de mí” (literally: “poor me“) tomorrow.

I asked Alejandro how the closing ceremony came to get such a funny name. He told me it’s a tradition that comes from the San Fermines in Pamplona, where all the partyers gather around in the Plaza Mayor at the end of the fiestas, ripping off their red neck scarves and singing: poor me, poor me, another whole year to wait until I get the excuse to run around in a drunken haze for an entire week again. OK, I may have been paraphrasing somewhat liberally there, the actual words are “pobre de mí, pobre de mí, que se han acabado las fiestas de San Fermín“.

I’m not sure how I can have lived in Spain all this time without knowing this vital cultural titbit. I reckon I’d have picked it up in a jiffy if I’d come here as a twenty year old, instead of livin’ it large undertaking my cultural and linguistic immersion in México lindo y querido, on my year abroad from uni.

Leave a Reply

