castañetear

Me castañetean los dientes solo de pensarlo.

Me castañetean los dientes solo de pensarlo.

castañetear [verb]: to chatter (teeth)

About a month or so ago, I received an email from a swimming club in Palencia inviting me to participate in a Christmas Day swim in the Castilla Canal. I should mention that the canal is often frozen solid in winter and getting cold is not my thing. At. All.

I guess it’s one of those things that seem like a good idea when the event in question is a month away, so I replied to the email saying, “Me apunto para el bañito, pero me castañetean los dientes solo de pensarlo.” (I’m signing up for the dip, but my teeth are chattering just thinking about it.)

I am slightly cheating with this post by writing about an inverse translation, because the meaning of this word is self-explanatory when you hear it in context (knowing that castañetear is the word for “to play the castanets“). But since I had to look up how to say “teeth-chattering” in Spanish, I reckon it all counts as good vocabulary building. And I’ll be damned if I’m going to chuck myself into icy cold waters on Christmas Day and not manage to squeeze a blog post out of it somehow. Happy Christmas everyone. Happy birthday, big bro. xxx

chocolate con churros

PS – El chocolate con churros me supo a gloria después del bañito. (The hot chocolate and churros tasted out-of-this-world after the swim.) I might even sign up to do it again next year!

2 thoughts on “castañetear

Leave a Reply

