best of 2013

¡Feliz año nuevo!

¡Feliz año nuevo!

At the end of December, I always like to look back and reflect on the year’s highlights and learning points, to see what tweaks and changes are needed in order to take my life in the direction in which I want it to go.

I’m really glad I made the leap and started My Little Spanish Notebook this year. I’ve still got a ton to learn about this blogging malarkey, (I could start by accessing the online course I signed up to do over a month ago, ahem), but for now I’m just excited to be learning new words and hopefully helping one or two of you -my friends, family and fellow language lovers- to broaden your vocab along with me.

And although it’s been a short year, because I only started this blog a few months ago, here are my favourite entries from 2013:

clóchinas – Just because it’s a fabulous-sounding word to get your tongue around, and also because it’s an utterly silly post. And we all need a bit of silliness in our lives every now and again.

pepino – One of those surprise words that bomb into an otherwise completely comprehensible conversation and leave you realizing you’ve got no choice but to chuck your hands up and admit that you’ve got no idea what the other person is talking about.

despiporre – I’ve yet to use this word in context, but I’m looking forward to slapping it on the table at just the right moment, to fix it in my vocabulary and impress the locals. 😉

morrocotudo – Not only is this word absolutely awesome sounding, but it’s also one of those words that it would give me great satisfaction to hurl out in just the right exasperating context, I reckon.

tesitura – And finally, this one I’ve added to placate my friend Alison, now a lecturer at a US university, whose career trajectory looked very similar to mine until I hopped off and stayed in Spain with my lovely Spanish man. Thanks for getting your students to sign up, Alison, and I promise that next year I will do my best to create more entries in the “words to impress your Spanish prof” category, which is dedicated to you. 🙂

So that’s my random top five selection.  I hope 2013 has been kind to you all. Here’s to a fun-filled and fantastic 2014. Just remember  – be sure to keep on tweaking, folks! ¡Feliz Año Nuevo! Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “best of 2013

  1. Alison Guzmán

    Thank you so much Luisa!! I´ve been really enjoying reading your entries–the entertaining anechdotes help the words to stick!! ¡Feliz año!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

