y a las pruebas me remito

256px-My_Trusty_Gavel

y a las pruebas me remito [expression] – I refer to the evidence before us; the evidence speaks for itself

I really want to learn how to make my blog look prettier and sleeker, so I’ve been checking out this ‘ere worldwide web thing recently, to see what other linguists are up to. I shared the conclusion of my research with Alejandro: that most other hispanists’ blogs are just as crappy-looking as mine. (Eek. Sorry for the generalisation, fellow hispanists. I’m sure plenty of you know more than I do about this stuff, but perhaps you’ll agree that blog design is not usually our forte.)

Claro,” replied Alejandro. “Saber de idiomas no significa saber de informática,” and he flashed me a cheeky grin, “… y a las pruebas me remito.

I fixed him with my steeliest glare, switched to English (to even the playing field) and slowed my words right down (for extra menacing effect).

“I don’t know what that means,” I told him. “But I have a feeling it may have been an insult… Cheeky beggar!” (The actual words used may have been somewhat ruder, but you don’t need to know about my potty mouth).

Efectivamente, dear reader, y a las pruebas me remito” turns out to be an expression of legal origin, meaning something like “I refer to the evidence right before us”. Harrumph!

 

Photo by Brian Turner (Flickr: My Trusty Gavel) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

